Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

I work as a secretary for a local school district 4 hours a day. I have what they consider a 206 day a year position. It's a decent paying job, but with only 4 hours, nothing fantastic. I recently tried a secretarial position at the high school level and did not like it and since I am in the union, was allowed to go back to my old position. I work for an elementary school.

Now there is a position at the Administration Building for a secretary in Special Education. I am afraid to try it because it requires working on a spreadsheet of which I am not good at and have not ever had to use one. The personnel director assured me that they would and could train me. We really need the money and it would be a huge pay raise. Would you try the job? I have a ten day period when I can decide if I like it or not. I am just worried that if I don't like the job and go back to my old one I will really be embarassed.  Should I give it a try? What would you do?

3MOM627

have a nice day

by on Aug. 30, 2013 at 12:11 AM
Replies (11-20):
Daisyducc
by Member on Aug. 31, 2013 at 11:51 AM

I would give it a shot.  You're trying to grow professionally and better provide for your family..no shame in that!

defineyou
by New Member on Aug. 31, 2013 at 1:01 PM
1 mom liked this

Well, You're obviously a thoughtful woman. You're doing an evaluation of your opportunities. I think it would be a good idea to weigh the difference between the two:

1. Stay at my current job.

2. Test out a new job with a new skill. With the possibility of determining that I don't like it.

So, you're weighing comfort against opportunity. It's your gift to have the option to decide which is your higher value.

WIth love, Amanda

http://defineyourspirit.com/my-business/

calsmom62
by Silver Member on Aug. 31, 2013 at 7:10 PM