Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Can working overnights kill u

Posted by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 2:41 PM
  • 10 Replies
I honestly think about this often. I have been working a overnight job for two years and I pretty much sleep and go to work. The time in between is to spend with my kids. On my days off which is during the week I have our youngest dd with me. So a good chunk of my time is taking care if her and other things it need to take care of. I just feel like I am on a never ending treadmill of no real time to be healthy although I am trying to fix that with eating clean but its hard to fit in excercise.
by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 2:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
angelchewning
by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 2:55 PM
1 mom liked this

Tell me about it! Its no different working normal hours...being a mommy consumes every waking moment. you are not alone!!!

Marti123
by Platinum Member on Jan. 9, 2014 at 3:02 PM
1 mom liked this
First, we all do what we have to do to provide for our families. There should no guilt in that. Millions of parents live and work odd shifts.

I not sure if your question was meant to be a rhetorical one, so the following may not be appreciated, sorry, But to answer your question....numerous reputable studies show shift workers have more health problems and lower life expectancy or in other words they die a little sooner. The other concern, numerous studies show sleep deprivation to be a factor in fatalities in motor vehicle accidents. And subjects who are sleep deprived are frequently as impaired (slow reaction times & distractions) as drunk drivers.

So all you can do is to try to get as much rest as possible. I worked nights for a little over 5 years, I know it is rough, hang in there!
RhiannonMare
by Member on Jan. 9, 2014 at 3:25 PM