Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Work from home benefit discontinued

Posted by on Mar. 31, 2014 at 11:19 AM
  • 10 Replies

Our IT department has been allowing people to work from home up to two days a week (connected to our network on our laptop) for several years.  We work the same full day at home as we do at the office, but there are several benefits like being able to sleep later and not have to dress up and drive in to the office.  When I am done for the day I am already home and I can get a lot more done in the evenings, especially with kids activities and such.  Also it helps when we have doctor's appointments and the like because I am already out of the office on those days so it is just more convenient.  Unfortunately we just found out that starting in May it will no longer be allowed.  I have been enjoying this benefit for several years, and it was one of the positive things we had when so many other things are going downhill (we had a major floor remodel where they took away our cubicles in favor of a more open floor plan where we have 5 feet of desk space and are basically in a big room with the rest of our team members).  I have been with my company for almost 16 years and I am the only one working in my household so unfortunately I don't have the luxury of looking elsewhere so I just have to suck it up.  They say it is for security reasons (they are basically overreacting to other major breeches in the news lately and have already made it harder for us to connect from home) and also because not everyone in the company can do it so it isn't fair that we can.  As far as I know it is not because people have been abusing it.  The rules were pretty reasonable and it has always been up to the individual managers to monitor performance and address any issues as necessary.  I just feel that a lot of other companies offer this benefit and it can be part of a co