Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Am I being selfish?

Posted by on Apr. 3, 2014 at 1:16 PM
  • 15 Replies

My husband says that I'm being selfish and that I need to think of my kids more and less of myself...

I work 40 hours a week, M-F 9-5...  I've been trying to get back into shape and lose this baby weight I've been carying for 5 years now.  So to do this I run.  I spend 30 minutes a day running.  It's too cold right now to run in the mornings (we woke up to 35 degrees again!) so I run after work for a few minutes before I cook dinner.  

Now, a friend invited me to go with her to the gym and to do I I told her I can go either at 6 am (before the kids are up) or at 9 pm (after they go to bed).  He thinks I'm being selfish because I want to spend a few minutes a day at the gym destressing alone.  

(by the way, when I run in the evenings I go to the school playground and let them play at the same time so it's not like I totally ignore then from sun up to sun down) 

by on Apr. 3, 2014 at 1:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Marti123
by Platinum Member on Apr. 3, 2014 at 1:45 PM
1 mom liked this
Uhh, no, not selfish, that is crazy.

It would appear at first read, there are some other feelings harboring behind his comment about other issues than just being concerned about 2-3 hours of exercise per week.
Nighttiger
by Ashley on Apr. 3, 2014 at 3:47 PM
No, sounds like your kids are well cared for. Would this time be coming out of time you spend with your husband? Could he be feeling neglected and using the kids to express his feelings?
kceron
by Member on Apr. 3, 2014 at 4:57 PM

Well, considering we're about done...  That's a good point.  He doesn't like the fact that I would rather run alone than with him (I usually take my 100 pound malamute with me) I just like to go at my own pace and not feel like I have to slow down for him.