Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Finding time to workout?

Posted by on May. 22, 2014 at 11:03 PM
  • 21 Replies

I am dedicated to working out and try to work out three to four days out of the week on my elliptical at home for 30 minutes. I am a teacher, so my work hours are from 7 am- 3pm. I wake up at 5:00 am in the mornings to workout so I can spend quality time with my 13 month old daughter in the afternoons. My husband works different work shifts so I sometimes find it hard to work out, since he watches my daughter in the mornings just in case she wakes up while I am working out. Even though, summer is almost here and I will me off, I was wondering how other working mothers find time to work out and stay fit.

by on May. 22, 2014 at 11:03 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JeremysMom
by on May. 22, 2014 at 11:15 PM
1 mom liked this

I typically work out in the evenings from 7-8 pm at the gym. My son is 9 so he goes to the gym's kids zone where he plays the wii or dodgeball. My husband's work hours are crazy as well. He works 7 pm - 7 am for one week and then has a week off. I find it easier for me to go to the gym on his work week rather than his off week. A few suggestions that I have are:

1. Look at your schedule for the week and decide which days will be best to work out and stick with that schedule.

2. Remember that you need to take care of yourself in order to be the best you can be. 30 minutes is only 2% of your day and it won't kill you or your baby to be away from them so that you can do what you need to do. (That is if they are being watched by a trusted caregiver, lol)

3. While you work out it provides a good bonding time for your daughter and your husband. 

Good Luck!

Marti123
by Platinum Member on May. 22, 2014 at 11:25 PM
2 moms liked this