Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Son starting pre-k and I have to work!

Posted by on Aug. 13, 2014 at 7:46 PM
  • 17 Replies

My son is starting pre-k on the 25th and I'm crushed that I won't be able to be with him on his first day.  I am also a teacher so I can't take the day off seeing as our school starts the exact same day!  I don't know what to do.  I'm hoping daddy will be able to take the day off but he works in the oilfield industry so his schedule is never really set.  My friends and family live about 5 hours away.  I'm going to talk to my principal about it to see if there is something that can be worked out but I doubt it.  That is also our first day of school so I don't think she will let me get a sub or be late to class.  Another worry is that he will have to ride the school bus all by himself!!  I'm so nervous and hoping he will easily adjust but he is 4 years old and a momma's boy!  They will pick him up in the morning and then take him to daycare after his morning half day.  Anyway if anybody else has dealt with this issue please let me know and give me some advice!  Thanks!

Thank you for all the replies and advice!!  I really appreciate it!!  

i rock

by on Aug. 13, 2014 at 7:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Debmomto2girls
by on Aug. 13, 2014 at 8:40 PM

I would talk to your principal.  I am sure someone could cover you for a little bit. What grade do you teach?

calsmom62
by Gold Member on Aug. 13, 2014 at 8:46 PM
if there is no way for you to be there, you do have time to get a friend or hire a caregiver to take him to the bus
Allieverwant
by New Member on Aug. 13, 2014 at 9:10 PM

Quoting Debmomto2girls:

I would talk to your principal.  I am sure someone could cover you for a little bit. What grade do you teach?

I am going to talk to her.  This will be my second year teaching first grade.

Debmomto2girls