Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Love My Job but Not Given Enough Hours to do the Job

Posted by on Nov. 21, 2017 at 10:28 PM
  • 9 Replies

I am new to this group. 

I have looked a very long time for a job. I had not worked for about 20 years in a career do to raising my children and homeschooling them. I have a college degree. I am certified to teach. But I don't want to work full-time, and if I sub or work part-time in schools, I make $8 or less an hour in my part of country. It is not worth my time working for this amount of money. 

i am a hard worker. I love getting the job done and being productive. I want to enjoy the people I work with and the company I work for. 

i finally found a great job working for Hallmark Cards as a Retail Merchandiser. I love the job. I have loved Hallmark since I was a little girl. I have always bought Hallmark products. I have now been working since the first week of October. 

I only work one to two days a week usually but some weeks I work three days. I like the variety. I service four stores for their Hallmark Cards shipment. You wouldn't think there is a lot to learn but it is a high volume, high responsibility and a lot to learn. I worked with my manager for the first few weeks. She would meet me at the store and we did the job together. It took about 6 weeks for me to get my handheld computer, so I really couldn't fully do the job unless she was there. I had no way to check in shipments, to know what slot to put a card back in or to reorder product. Still I worked for a about two weeks on my own without the handheld coumputer. I had to cut the code to scan off the boxes and keep the put back cards in a pile to be done when someone with a computer could scan them.