Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

All about Toddlers All about Toddlers

how to explain to my 2 and 3 year old that mommy is going to have another baby?

Posted by on Aug. 6, 2012 at 4:04 PM
  • 18 Replies

Hi, I am 2 months Pregnant with my 3rd and I would like some advise on how i can explain to my 2 little ones that mommy is going to have another baby. i would like them to at least understand a little that way they dont feel like one day i decided im going to bring a new baby home. especially to my youngest one bc he is still nursing. thank you in advance your your advise.

Janet <3

by on Aug. 6, 2012 at 4:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
darbyakeep45
by on Aug. 6, 2012 at 4:23 PM

I honestly don't know mama...congrats though!  I have a 4 year old special needs child, and he's our only one, so I have no experience with that, but wanted to send you hugs and wish you good luck!

Jules_
by on Aug. 6, 2012 at 4:46 PM
I made them a part of my pregnancy. My daughters were 3 and 2 when I got pregnant with my daughter Mercy. I took them to appointments with me and let them hear the heartbeat and also the ultrasounds. When baby starting kicking they would sit with me just feeling the baby move.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Shani527
by on Aug. 6, 2012 at 4:49 PM
1 mom liked this

I just told mine. That I was going to have a baby and that the baby grew in my tummy and that one day the baby will come out. As my belly grew I let them kiss and hug the belly. Feel the kicks. It wasnt that hard for mine to understand to be careful with mommy.

keeckhardt
by Kat on Aug. 6, 2012 at 5:00 PM
1 mom liked this
I would just tell them and involve them in the pregnancy as much as possible. My oldest was almost 4 when I got pregnant with DD. he asked for a baby sister for 2 years before we found out it was a girl.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Flaca43