• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What to do about young adult children angry at me for divorce

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 5:34 PM
  • 12 Replies
  • 826 Total Views

Hi,

I'm new to this and I'm having a hard time dealing with the anger and acccusations my 23 yo son and 20yo daughter are expressing since my husband and I told them we are divorcing.

I spent years trying to work on our marriage and trying to get him to go to counceling, with no results.  I had to leave the house and tell him I wasn't coming back unless he agreed to go to marriage counceling and it took him 3 days to decide our marriage was important enough to try to save!  We've gone for a few months and he just doesn't understand the issues and isn't willing to put any effort into it.

He was very controlling and never wanted any of our "issues" discussed with ANYONE so no one had a clue we were struggling.  Everyone is very surprised by my decision to divorce and think I'm rushing into this but it's been a long process, I've discussed it in therapy for years and I just don't love him anymore.  My health is suffering because of the stress and I NEED to take care of myself.

My kids think I'm being selfish and not thinking of anyone else. They think the world of their father and I think that 's great as he has been a pretty good father and I WILL NOT bad mouth him to my kids.  In not telling them more details, they have basically turned against me. 

My son is finishing college and doesn't live near home.  He'll call me occasionally but it's very uncomfortable and we were always very close in the past.