Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Low Carb Food Storage Ideas?

Posted by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 7:22 PM
  • 11 Replies
  • 385 Total Views

My husband and I have been eating low carb for 5 months now and I've lost 55 lbs.  Which is awesome, but...  I need ideas on what to store for food storage that is low carb!  We don't eat wheat or flour or any grains, we don't eat beans or pasta or rice, no sugar...  So, what are your ideas?

I want to buy a case of black soy beans from Amazon, because one can only has 4 carbs in it, and they taste like regular beans.  We have canned tuna, chicken, beef...  Green beans and mushrooms are the only vegetables I can think of that are fairly low carb.  What are your other ideas?  Maybe people that eat gluten free would have good ideas for me. 

by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 7:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
moneysaver6
by Member on Oct. 8, 2012 at 8:19 PM

Many who eat gluten-free because of allergies (like our family) still eat grains.  We just eat different grains like rice, spelt, millet, quinoa, etc.

We're high raw, but don't focus on any high or low type of diet besides that.  Here's a bump, though.

hipmomto3
by Member on Oct. 12, 2012 at 9:19 PM

Why no beans? I understand they are not strictly low carb, but they are low GI given the massive amount of fiber in them. Unless you are doing LC for a reason other than blood sugar - Paleo? But Paleos eat rice sometimes, so... IDK.

Canned meats I think would be your safest bet. What do you eat now? You obviously can't store salads or anything, but there are surely more veg than green beans and mushrooms that you eat now that you could eat from storage?

What abou tomato sauce? Not pasta sauce with added sugars, but canned tomatoes or tomato sauce straight up?

Melodee0119
by Group Admin on Oct. 13, 2012 at 12:05 AM
1 mom liked this