Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm new to this! I'm seeking some advice so I can exclusively pump sucessfully

Posted by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 7:01 PM
  • 9 Replies
  • 403 Total Views

Hi! i'm so thankful i found this group. i thought i was the only one that thought this can be an option when feeding our beautiful babies. my newborn is 5 days old.

I'm seeking advice on how to maintain a good supply for her!

i've heard so many times about how when you exclusively pump it brings down your supply.

well, what can i do to keep that from happening? how often should i pump, how long should i pump for when i do pump, what are some things to avoid my milk drying up or decreasing over time, and what are some vitamins/supplements i can take to be sure i get the best results?

thank you so much! again i am so thankful to find this group

by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 7:01 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
CandiceDanielle
by Member on Jul. 21, 2012 at 7:35 PM
You should pump every 2 hrs during the day and 3-4 at night (like baby would nurse) to establish and maintain a supply for the first 3-4 months.
Most women pump anywhere from 10-20 mins,it depends on if you're using a single or double.
Good luck!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Angelicmom24
by on Jul. 21, 2012 at 7:45 PM
I've heard eating oatmeal helps ur supply
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
D520
by Member on Jul. 21, 2012 at 11:40 PM
Make sure to drink plenty of water! I take Fenugreek and Blessed Thistle herbs every day...i take more Fenugreek than recommended on the bottle. I also heard oatmeal was good, so I eat that for breakfast as well! Good luck!! :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
jlangdon81
by Member on Jul. 22, 2012 at 9:37 AM
1 mom liked this