Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pump on a schedule or no???

Posted by on Sep. 28, 2012 at 11:56 PM
  • 17 Replies
  • 753 Total Views
Ok, so I've been EPing for 7 months now. For the 1st several mos, I pumped around the clock every 3 hrs (or tried to!). However, now I've been pumping whenever I can but just trying to fit in the 7 pumps/24 hrs thing. However, I've heard that its best to stick with a schedule when pumping. Is that true? I work 12-hr shifts, & I don't always get to pump at the same time every day- I just make sure I pump 4 times while I'm there. Any input would be appreciated- thanks!
by on Sep. 28, 2012 at 11:56 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
CandiceDanielle
by Member on Sep. 29, 2012 at 11:32 AM
I've always heard a schedule is best and I stuck to one as much as possible.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
D520
by Member on Sep. 29, 2012 at 12:20 PM
I usually try to pump on a schedule but I've also heard that the number of pumps are what matters and not necessarily the times. And wow! Pumping 4 times at work must be so hard! I work 8 hour shifts and was only pumping twice but am now down to one time. At 7 months you may be able to cut out a session and still get the same amount. It made me nervous to try, but at 4 months, I was able to get down to 4 pumps a day with the same supply. Maybe give it a try if you are comfortable...you might be surprised...and then not as stressed! :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Loralismommy224
by Member on Sep. 29, 2012 at 1:10 PM
Quoting D520: