Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Worried I wont be able to supply enough for him.

Posted by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 7:22 PM
  • 8 Replies
  • 311 Total Views

So I'm new to this whole pumping thing been pumping since he was about 3 days old because was having to many issues with him not getting enough when trying to breastfeed. To the point he was hospitalized for a week till he started gaining weight again and I'm being made to fortify my breast milk. I pump every three hours during the day and try to pump at least once at night. I'm normally so tired that's all I can manage to stay awake for after tending to him. he is now 13 days old and I get roughly 2 ounces total every pump session. I really don't want to have to supplement more than the fortifying I'm already doing. Any suggestions on how to up my supply So I can get a stash going and so that I will be producing enough for him to eat.

by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 7:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Loralismommy224
by Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 10:37 PM
Hello, & welcome. The best way to do it is just pump, pump, pump! If you can, put him to breast as often as you can. Baby can remove more than a pump. Just remember, especially at this early in the game, milk is based on supply & demand. Drink plenty of water, eat enough calories, & REST when he sleeps!!! It's very hard, I know, but you can do this :)
MommyAmes
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 10:48 PM

I agree with the mommy above. I also took Fenugreek & it worked great for my supply. Just hang in there. It does get better!

JessLackey
by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:55 AM