Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hi again! need opinions please!

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2007 at 7:45 AM
  • 4 Replies
  • 188 Total Views
Im seriously thinking about going back in the Army, but I am worried about my son. He's 4 months old. I've never left him for more than a couple hours at a time.

How do you like being an active duty mom? do you ever regret  not being with your son/daughter? and my biggest question: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN DEPLOYED? and had to be away from your kid?

My husband keep saying "oh the war is going to end soon"  but that isnt any comfort for me!!! I never feared getting deployed when i was single and had no kids, but now its kinda scary. I'm an x-ray tech in the army so i know we can get deployed... some of my friends who went to AIT with me are already deployed

by on Jul. 25, 2007 at 7:45 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
Combat-Mom
by New Member on Jul. 25, 2007 at 11:45 PM
First off, the "war" isn't ending anytime soon. The bases in Iraq are on minimum 10yr plans to build up, military doesn't do that if "we're pulling out". Sorry but true.

Second, I'm a married mother of a 3 yr old, that at 10 months old I had to deploy to Iraq (not my only deployment). Granted I'm lucky as Air Force I only go 6 months, instead of a year. I don't regret the leaving, I knew she had and has a great father to care for her. But I did hate missing the 1st steps, birthday, etc. I love being active duty even with the hard times, it's all in  how you deal with things as they come and your overall personality and personal drive to do what's needed.

Feel free to message me if you have any specific Q's. But I hope this helps a little.
luluslifeisgrt
by New Member on Aug. 4, 2007 at 12:37 AM