Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mayhaw Jelly

Posted by on Jan. 9, 2008 at 5:32 PM
  • 5 Replies
  • 512 Total Views
I have been out of homemade jelly for awhile now & can't seem to find anything in the stores that taste worth a flip, so a friend of mine brought over some mayhaws yesterday.  These are the neatest little berries & have a tart flavor, just perfect for making jelly.  I posted a photo of the end result on my HP & MamaDiane wanted me to post the recipe here & post the pic. 

Mayhaws are similar to crabapple & grow from the Hawthorne tree & harvested in May, hence Mayhaw. I have made many types of jelly, but this is my first try @ Mayhaw.  I think this may become my most favorite, even though I haven't tried it on a biscuit or toast, yet.  Just a swipe from what was left in the pot after making it.  Mmmmmm!

MAYHAW JELLY

1 box Ball Natural Gel No Sugar Needed Fruit Pectin
1 gallon mayhaw berries (yielding 4 cups juice)
3 cups sugar
1/2 t. butter or margarine

Rinse berries in colander & put in large pot.  Cover slightly w/water.  Bring berries to a boil.  Stir gently.  Put lid on pot & boil for about 10 minutes.  Remove lid & mash berries gently to extract more juice.  Pour berries into strainer & measure off 4 cups juice. 

Put juice in double boiler & stir in packet of fruit pectin, stirring while pouring.  (I like to use a whisk) 

Measure 3 cups sugar into bowl.  Set aside.

When juice in double boiler continues to boil, stir in sugar gently.  Continue stirring until it returns to a boil.  After returning to a boil, continue stirring & boil for 1 minute.