Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am new to this

Posted by on Mar. 8, 2009 at 9:58 PM
  • 3 Replies
  • 268 Total Views

Hello my name is Heather, I just found out 2 days ago that my DD who is 16 months has a Sub Aortic Membrane. She had a mummer at birth that we were followup with the cardiologist with every 6 months, she HAD a small leak in her mitral valve and some noise around her aortic valve, the mitral valve fixed its self but they just saw the membrane in her aorta. I am super sacred and totally clueless and dont really know what to do. I mean I am taking her for a second opinion , to see again what its all about. My doctor didnt seem to worried about it but doing my own research it turns out to be serious enough to have to do surgery, if not now sometime in the future. DO any of you have a child with this defect if so what is your plan of action? I am contemplating doing the surgery sooner rather than later for fears that her aortic valve might be damaged by us waiting. ANy advice would be helpful. I mean she is totally healthy in the 95th percentile for height and weight I know right now she is fine but it still scares the you know what out of me.

by on Mar. 8, 2009 at 9:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
mamatoheartbaby
by Group Admin on Mar. 8, 2009 at 10:55 PM

I just want to say welcome to cafemom!!!

I don't know anything about a subaortic membrane, my son has tetralogy of fallot, I hope there is someone on here that can help you. There are also 2 great sites www.littlehearts.org and www.savinglittlehearts.com both do parent matching.

UmmKhalil
by Group Owner on Mar. 9, 2009 at 10:20 AM

Hi, and welcome Heather!!

I am not too familiar with Sub Aortic Membrane either, but I am sure there is someone in the group who will be able to help!