Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hello

Posted by on May. 7, 2007 at 9:32 AM
  • 8 Replies
  • 439 Total Views
Hi.  I just wanted to introduce myself.  My name is Debi and I was a Volunteer Firefighter for our Volunteer Fire dept.  I joined after the ladies auxiliary disbanded simply as a liaison of sorts, but it was not long before I was fighting fire with the guys.  I was the only Female on the dept and had to fight harder to prove myself than the guys but that was also partly due to the fact that my husband was the training officer and was harder on me than the rest.  I finally earned my way to a Lieutenant position and had the respect of almost every guy on the dept (there is always one or two in a small town fire dept that think women don't belong).  I loved fighting fire and would still be doing it if my kids didn't need me.  With both me and my husband on the dept one of us was going to have to quit, and though I had every right to fight for my spot, I stepped down and let him keep going.  He has been doing this for 11 years and has been to more schools including the Fire Academy, and well he is just better for the dept than I am.  It was a hard decision to leave, but I know it was for the best and I can always go back when the boys are older.  Anyway Just a little history on me.
by on May. 7, 2007 at 9:32 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
mammaemt
by Group Owner on May. 7, 2007 at 12:54 PM