Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Introduction and new baby!

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2011 at 11:23 AM
  • 2 Replies
  • 206 Total Views

Hi everyone! I'm new to this stepmom group. I've read lots of books on stepparenting - the smart stepmom, the smart stepfamily, blending by the book (bible)...but have some questions that don't seem to be answered. Quick summary - I'm 28 and married to have been married to my wonderful husband for 1 year and we are expecting a baby in August. I am full time step mom to his two twin sons and adopted 10 year old daughter. His ex is in the army and just got married.

My question is - when the baby is old enough, how do you introduce them to the ex's family? What do they call the ex and her family? The relationship with the ex isn't so great, and I don't necessarily want my child calling her parents papa and and hearing my stepkids call her mommy and the new baby saying it too. I didn't think about how confusing this might be for a baby to come into a home that has step-siblings with two mom's and different family. Any thoughts?

by on Jul. 8, 2011 at 11:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-2):
chatter83
by New Member on Jul. 10, 2011 at 5:25 PM