Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

All Natural Remedies

Posted by   + Show Post

With all the fuss over things like the swine flu I was thinking about how rarely I let my children take medicine of any kind. I can't think of giving my 5 y/o cough medicine - the same stuff teenagers use to get high!

I AM NOT A DOCTOR! I do suggest getting accurate diagnosis from a medical professional, I supplement with natural treatments but for chronic illnesses I don't experiment without discussing with an actual physicial (and I suggest you do as well).

So here's a list of some of the natural remedies I use..feel free to share some of your own!!

Shannon

by on Nov. 3, 2009 at 10:05 AM
Replies (31-32):
KickButtMama
by G.O. Shannon on Feb. 22, 2011 at 7:27 PM

Quoting Hazelaid_mama:

We also use grapefruit seed extract as a wonderful natural anti-bacterial for all kinds of things (there are at least 20 ideas for use printed on the bottle we use from dandruff to pesticide cleaner). Look forward to reading more natural remedies! Thanks!

HERE ARE SOME GREAT GRAPEFRUIT SEED EXTRACT USES:

Grapefruit Seed Extract is a product my family has been using for about 20 years now.  I wouldn't be without it in my home because it is so versatile and easy to use, and has been a real blessing to my family's overall health and well-being.

Here are some of the things GSE is helpful for:

Skin fungi or bacterial diseases of the skin: Mix 30 to 50 drops of GSE liquid extract in a quart of water, and spray on the infected area at least 2 times a day.

This same dilution can be used as a general antiseptic for cages, stalls, or any other contact areas where a commercial antiseptic or disinfectant would be applied.  There is no need to rinse or try to remove any residue left by GSE.  It can also be mixed into virtually any topical preparation,
like shampoo, flea-dip, cat litter, bedding, etc.