Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

So today is the day we start homeschooling!!!

Posted by on Feb. 21, 2012 at 10:25 AM
  • 3 Replies
  • 674 Total Views

I am new to CM so I will give you a little background on us.  My husband is an active duty soldier in the AF and is currently overseas for the year.  We have 4 kids.  My oldest daugher is 10.  She was adopted through foster care and suffered a lot of abuse: mentally, physically, and sexually.  She is "supposed" to be in 4th grade but when we moved back to Missouri we switched her to 3rd.  She fit in pretty well but was still not as mature as the other kids in her class.  She is very far behind in her reading and math.  The new school they are supposed to start in said that if she hasn't been diagnosed with an "actual learning disorder" there is nothing they can do for her and "obviously she isn't trying and working hard enough." She is just going to have to work harder.  That brought out my Momma Bear and I almost had it out with the principal.