Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I feel as if my school is trying to get me to pull my son out instead of kicking him out

Posted by   + Show Post

I'm new to this website but have been reading posts for a couple days now, and see some parents in similar situations.

I am currently a teacher of grades 3-6 Language Arts and Social Studies at a VERY small, non-public, religious school.  As a teacher, my son gets to attend at a discount, which is helpful.  Last year he was in the preschool program after having half a year of preschool in a full day daycare at which I was also employed.  At the beginning of this year, he was 4 yrs and 8 mths, which as a non-public school is past the minimum of 4 y and 7 m to start Kindergarten.  For the first 2 months of this school year, I was told that his behavior was a problem.  He started with one teacher that he had had in preschool, then they changed it to two teachers (including the one he started with), then they moved the first one back to preschool and kept only the second one.  This was enough of a challenge, but then I was told that, although he was academically at the top of the class in kindergarten, his social behavior was not ready, and he was moved back to preschool because he was not 5 yet.

My son turned 5 in December, and since he's been in preschool again (now we have been learning the pre-k material for 2 and a half years), he has been declining in behaviors.  I have received complaints almost every day, and because I am just down the hall, frequently get pulled out of class by both teachers and principal to deal with it.  My husband and I formally requested all written reports on him, as he has been asked to leave school twice this year, and has already had at least 1 in school suspension that I am aware of.  And he's only 5!