Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Math. Singapore vs Saxon

Posted by on Nov. 5, 2012 at 12:27 PM
  • 9 Replies
  • 706 Total Views

I am considering homeschooling my children. I have been looking at teaching methods and curriculum. For math I am looking into Singapore or Saxon, does anyone have experience with these? I worry about math, because I am not good at it and I want a better math education for my kids than I had, but I worry that I wont be able to teach them/help them, since I struggle with it so much myself.
My youngest just turned 5 and missed the date to start K in public school, but I have been working with her at home. I have Singapore Essential Math for her and it has been going well so far, but we just started it.
My oldest is in 1st grade at public school, she does well in their math program, but I am not sure what they are using. I have heard that it is harder for kids to start Singapore after 1st grade because it is such a different method. 

I really want to homeschool, but if we are able to, it probably wont be until next year (with my oldest, since I already am with my youngest).

Any thoughts, suggestions, etc.?

by on Nov. 5, 2012 at 12:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
BookGirl06
by on Nov. 5, 2012 at 2:23 PM

BUMP!

oaron5555
by Welcome Squad on Nov. 5, 2012 at 2:49 PM

I use Saxon.  It has worked well for our family.  There is a lot of repetition which some people don't like but I do.  The only advice I can give you for Saxon is that 1 is really kindergarden 2 is first grade and 3 is second grade and so on.  Each lesson is laid out for you.  It is very easy to use.

MyVavies
by Welcome Squad on Nov. 5, 2012 at 6:14 PM
1 mom liked this

We use Life with Fred ,Math Readers- Living Math, Math U see and Touch Math. We like a verity so we can get examples from different books.They are preschool- 8th grade.