Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm looking for...

Posted by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 5:11 PM
  • 10 Replies
  • 466 Total Views

I want something all together. Like a package curriculum. This is my first year and I'm overwhelmed as it is. I need something we can start in the middle of the year. My son is in 1st grade and I want to start right after Christmas break. I don't want anything religious based and it has to be fairly inexpensive...

Ugh...

by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 5:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Bleacheddecay
by Leader on Dec. 12, 2012 at 6:34 PM
3 moms liked this

I'd suggest going to your local parent / teacher store. Get a grade one workbook that covers all the main subjects. Supplement with online resources and your library. Also gardening, cooking, park time, the zoo and so on. Have fun with it. Make it fun for him!

BramblePatch
by Helping Hands on Dec. 12, 2012 at 8:16 PM
Its hard finding inexpensive secular packages. In fact, the ONLY secular boxed curriculums are Moving Beyond the Page, Timberdoodle, Oak Meadow, Christopherus, Enki, and Calvert. You might try to find them used at www.homeschoolclassifieds.com.

You could easily piece something together cheaply....
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
outstandingLove
by Doula Cheri on Dec. 12, 2012 at 8:20 PM

We homeschool without a full boxed curriculum.

I suggest focusing on the three R's if your child is still in early elementary. Reading, wRiting and aRithmatic. It's fairly easy, you can find all kinds of ideas. Read some homeschool books from your library.

Pukalani79
by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 9:29 PM

We use Oak Meadow and love it

frstldyhmsch
by Welcome Squad on Dec. 12, 2012 at 11:11 PM