Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New to group and wanting to unschool

Posted by on Dec. 30, 2012 at 11:36 AM
  • 3 Replies
  • 313 Total Views

Hello all.  I have a 4th grader and a 7th grader I homeschool now.  I would like to unschool them.  They seem to resist my schedule.  The only worry I have is i live in NY.  I have read the laws.  I have to send in quarterly reports.  The elementary school is not as bad as the middle school.  They want me to send in a curriculum!  And for this year, my two kids have to take the standardized tests. I worry that when they take those tests if I am unschooling I may get into trouble since it will look like they don't know how to take tests or won't know what is on the test. Or the law will demand i put them back in school.  What should I do?  I am new to homeschooling, I just started this year.  Should they be taking tests on a regular basis?  Thanks for any advice.  I hope I made sense.  I am so new to this!  By the way, last year I pulled my daughters out of school because of bullying and health issues.

by on Dec. 30, 2012 at 11:36 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
SnailGal
by Welcome Squad on Dec. 30, 2012 at 1:14 PM

They can't request to see curriculum unless it's required by law (which should be the same for each grade). I'm not sure about tests because I don't have to have mine take them here and we aren't unschooling. I don't like "teaching to the test" though either. If I had to have mine take them then I would personally spend at least some time getting him familiar with the way the tests work, and some of the material that will be on it. Now I wouldn't be using a textbook, but if I knew the test in 7th grade went over a certain topic I would be checking out library books on that topic and doing oral comprehension reports of it. to make sure he understood it.