Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I have an 11 year son who is struggling in a classroom environment behaviorally. His grades are pass plus in almost all subjects and pass in everything else. He has adhd and odd. He is on the verge of being removed from regular class and put in a class with kids with behavior issues. It is a smaller class size and taught by a teacher who can actually help redirect him and work with him better when he gets angry and disruptive. He does show some anger at home with his brother, but for the most part I do not have problems with him at home. My husband and I are now looking at homeschooling for next year, depending on what happens for the remainder of this school year.

My concern is, I don't think I would be very good at it! I was a terrible student myself. I am Afraid I won't be able to teach them, especially as they go into higher grades. My other concern is how do I teach at home two different grade levels? My son with problems is 5th grade, and his sister is too (twins), but they both work at different speeds. My oldest is 6th grade. They all have excellent grades currently. Although my daughter has some language arts difficulty, she is still getting a B-. 

Have any of you taken on homeschooling with these concerns?

by on Mar. 1, 2013 at 8:22 AM
Replies (11-14):
DyslexiaParent
by Welcome Squad on Mar. 6, 2013 at 11:09 AM
1 mom liked this