Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New at Homeschooling....Need HELP!!!

Posted by on Jul. 2, 2013 at 2:55 PM
  • 14 Replies
  • 467 Total Views

I am very new to this. I have a son who is starting kindergarten this year, and I really dont want to send him to a public school, however I have no clue where to start the homeschooling process. Especially curriculum! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

by on Jul. 2, 2013 at 2:55 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
debramommyof4
by Helping Hands on Jul. 2, 2013 at 3:13 PM
Where are you? We can help better if we know the state.

You can teach your son kindergarten for mostly free.

I like lessonpathways.com sorry I am mobile and can not make a sticky.

There are all kinds of things. Have fun with kindergarten though!
justinsmom777
by Testing the waters on Jul. 2, 2013 at 4:07 PM

We are in Akron Ohio....thanks for the website

debramommyof4
by Helping Hands on Jul. 2, 2013 at 4:12 PM

Your welcome. 

Here is your states local homeschool information site.

http://ohiohomeeducators.net/

Other ladies will be around later and probably do better than me.

Jody59
by Welcome Squad on Jul. 2, 2013 at 5:13 PM

The neat thing is there is really no way you are going to mess up kindergaten, unless you way over do it on what you want to accomplish. you will do more informal teaching than formal. Vary the morning with things he does with you and alone, with quiet /still activities and louder/moving activities. Read to him a lot, use music as a teaching tool. Some of it can be "fun" but it does not all have to be"fun". Your main thing will be to start on a phonics program. 

Check Out The Writing Course

justinsmom777
by Testing the waters on Jul. 3, 2013 at 7:53 AM