Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Can anyone help me?

Posted by on Sep. 26, 2013 at 5:27 PM
  • 6 Replies
  • 222 Total Views

I'm in Lakewood Ohio, and I am totally confused about how to handle this. I am new at homeschooling, I pulled my autistic son out in the middle of kindergarten to homeschool. I was not informed about any testing that needed to be done in subsequent years. I am new at this, and didn't even know to LOOK for that. I don't know any other homeschoolers, (I am working on that) and have not even had internet for the last 2 months. I just got back online and submitted my request to homeschool for my sons first grade year.

The superintendent denied me and at first refused to tell me why. Finally he tells me I need to pay and have a private person test my son and turn that into the school. I don't have ANY money to pay even $1 for someone to come test him. So I tell the superintendent that and I get stonewalled and responses like this: "An individual is free to choose all aspects of a child’s education when obtaining an exemption from compulsory school attendance for the purpose of “home education”. We can provide no resources for you. I can only recommend that you seek out other home schoolers for guidance. Since I am not permitted to release this information to you, I can only suggest that you contact the Lakewood Public Library in that some home schooling parents frequent the library for the purpose of home schooling; or search the internet for information about home schooling advocacy groups for assistance."