Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

positive programs for kids online?

Posted by on Apr. 2, 2009 at 10:36 AM
  • 12 Replies
  • 694 Total Views
Hi:
I'm new to mommy blogging. I have a daughter 5 years old who I home school. I'm looking for some positive entertainment online and preferably something that teaches character values. I find many cartoon programs unsuitable and wonder if anyone knows of programs that exist on the web. So far I've only been able to find something by a company called Dream A World. They have a wonderful little series called Young Masters Little Wisdom Adventures. Does anyone know of others?
All suggestions are welcome.
Katie
by on Apr. 2, 2009 at 10:36 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
zandes
by Helping Hands on Apr. 9, 2009 at 2:16 AM

i have found this site to be one i feel comfortable with.  for her age, i would stick to these four;  word world,  sid the science kid, sesame street, and super why.  depending on your taste, you may want to veer away from some of the others (due to some minor name calling, teasing, or whining). 

http://pbskids.org/

my 2 favorites are word world (can view episodes online) and sid.  i'm picky, too.

also:  http://zula.com/

ncstress
by Helping Hands on Apr. 10, 2009 at 4:15 PM

What about Veggie Tales?

InGinouity
by on Apr. 10, 2009 at 4:26 PM

Yes, I vote for PBS and Veggietales too. Veggietales is Christian based and I don't know if that is an issue for you, but my son and I are not and we love them. The sense of humor and wordplay is priceless.

Mine is ten now and I have been out of it for that age, but I know he used to love Bear in the Big Blue House, you might be able to find that on video.

Some of his favorites were (and some he still watches)

Backyardigans

Wonderpets

Arthur

Dragontales

Curious George

Bob the Builder

Postman Pat

Blue's Clues

Put put

Caillou