Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Structured Curriculum

Posted by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 12:57 AM
  • 5 Replies
  • 300 Total Views
Okay, I will try and keep this as short and sweet as possible. I am a beginner homeschooler beginning with my 4 year old. Following him will be his two year old sister and their six month old sister (not for awhile obviously). Anyway, I have two questions:

1. Is there a preschool curriculum out there that can help me with the organization/structure of a homeschooling day? I am pretty unstructured/unorganized and if I had something to follow I think I would do a better job. I looked into the Oak Meadow preschool curriculum and really liked it. It's just that it's not a Christian based program, which brings me to my next question...

2. Do I have to use a Christian based curriculum in order to still teach my children our Christian based values? There are curriculums out there I like but, they aren't Christian. Should I be turned off by this or, are there ways to implement creation into any curriculums?

Thanks

Kyla
by on Aug. 12, 2009 at 12:57 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
Laura1229
by Helping Hands on Aug. 12, 2009 at 1:16 AM

I can't help you much with your 1st question. I've never used a "curriculum".  We piece together our own w/ whatever we can get our hands on.  For the preschool/early elementary years, we prefer a very laid-back approch:  workbooks, games, hands-on, every day life observations, crafts, etc.