• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

SAHM

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 10:10 AM
  • 2 Replies
  • 203 Total Views

I just need to vent a bit and thought this would be the safest place to do it.

I have been working nonstop since I was 15 years old (I'm now 32).  Since my son (19  months old) began with his developmental delays, I have been considering staying at home with him.  Last week, he was officially diagnosed and I realized that without my being home working with him, it will be more difficult for him.  Therferoe, I spoke things over with SO, my son's therapists, and his doctors.  They all agree this is the best decision I can make for my son.  But, I've been getting mixed reactions from others.  Some think I'm crazy thinking that in this economy we can survive on one income.  Some say that I'm so determined and have worked so hard, why am I giving up my good job?  Some tell me that I'm going to go crazy at home and I won't be able to handle it.  It's just frustrating to me, as this was a difficult decision to make for me because I am such an independent woman.  However, I believe my son's health takes priority over my career or my wants.  At any rate, I'm giving my job 2 months notice this Friday (as I have a higher position that takes a bit to fill and I cannot just give 2 weeks).  I just wanted to vent a bit.  Thank you for listening (reading).

by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 10:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-2):
peasntatersmom
by Leslie on Jan. 25, 2010 at 1:34 PM

Hi!  :)

I am glad that you came here to vent.  We are here for you!