Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Tween Titans Tween Titans

10 yr old boy & puberty?

Is he really starting and what comes first?
He smells after playing outside HAHAHA when dont they?
You know he smells more bo than dirty little boy.  Also not that I have checked but he says he is getting hairy and it is freaking him out cause we are Italian and all the men in our family are very hairy. He is thinking it will be coming out his ears soon kinda funny but I see his concern. Yes I explained that comes much later in life. I told him to let me know when the hair is dark like black.
Is it possible already?
Thanks for helping,
Shannon
by on Apr. 27, 2007 at 2:25 PM
Replies (11-18):
BKBreshears
by on May. 15, 2007 at 9:44 AM
Yes, unfortunately, it is very REAL and possible.  I am a nurse who works in Labor & Delivery and I am telling you, it is NEVER too early to discuss puberty and the like with your 10 year old.  If they are starting to mature physically, you can bet that the hormones are there also and it is time for "the talk."  I personally feel that it is best to be very detailed because you have to remember that kids at 10 are still a little bit of concrete thinkers...they believe literally, and DO, EXACTLY what you tell them.  Example...put this dish in the dishwasher.  They will put the dish in the dishwasher, if you want it rinsed first, you need to specify.  I have a 16 yr. old, 12 yr. old and 9 yr. old and all have had the talk.  The oldest about the time he was 10-11.  You have to take each kid individually but I believe if you talk to them before the schools do, they will be much more comfortable with the subject.  Has anyone heard about how your meat and dairy company's are adding hormones to their livestock to increase growth and production?  Big reason why scientists believe our children are maturing so much earlier.  Won't mention specific names, but there are company's promising to n