Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

DS 11 Says he cant sleep.

Posted by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 8:19 AM
  • 24 Replies

I have been arguing with him for a couple months over this.  He was told to take Melatonin by Doctors because it was safe but I watched that Oz show and it was negative.  I have tried getting my son to scale back on it so hes not dependant on the stuff.  He takes once inawhile now but not all the time.    Anyway.. as a mom, I think its the tv, the kindle electronics that keep him from not sleeping.  I have tried no TV at all, the radio etc.  After I go to bed he gets up and eats and In know hes staying up longer.  Constant battle.. but I do fall asleep so I dont always hear him up.  He says he needs to see a doctor because he cant sleep.. I think they will tell him the same things I say and I know they wont give him sleeping pills.   But he keeps saying I dont care.  I do care and am getting concerned.  He is 11 but even when he was young he never napped and seemed to always go on very little sleep thats the reason the melatonin was prescribed/ suggested by a couple different doctors.  Has anyone ever dealt with a child who couldnt sleep?   I really dont want him taking any other medications.

by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 8:19 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
catngabsmom
by Erica on Feb. 6, 2013 at 9:28 AM

yep, my daughter!!! she is the same exact way!!! the only pill they can give at this age to help a child sleep is a blood pressure medication, it lowers their blood pressure to a level that is about average for their sleeping blood pressure, so i refuse to give that one, we no longer do melatonin either. the only thing i have found is to keep her on a consistent schedule and keep her busy all day and the later activities being more low key and mellow. does your son take any ADD/ADHD meds?

tiredmama42
by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 9:55 AM