Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Adult Kids Moms with Adult Kids

He's a Freshman in college, I'm a Freshman what do I do???

Posted by   + Show Post

Poll

Question: What should you do with your college freshman the first semester?

Options:

Let them do it all, fail or succeed.

Monitor them closely and make sure they do everything and don't fail.

Keep in contact, make suggestions and hope they listen.

Let them do it all and if you see them struggling, talk to them.

suggestions.....

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 19

View Results

He says he's doing fine.  He says it's going fine.  He says he loves his classes but something tells me there is more.  He calls a lot.  I had to tell him to stop, hoping he would be forced to go find friends.  He is always in his room when I call, Friday night, Wednesday afternoon or Sunday.  His grades on-line (I have his password) are horrible, mostly.  He says his grades will be added to and improve with the semester.  He says he is involved and does go to the movies on campus, is part of a group and has friends. 

We have a good relationship and he has always been a real honest kid, a bit lazy sometimes but a good kid.  How do I know that he is making friends, doing well in school and being responsible without smoothering him?  I think he still needs some help but at the same time I think he needs to grow up and take responsibility for getting things done on his own.  I don't want to wait until he gets his grades to find out that we threw away $15000. 

by on Oct. 14, 2012 at 2:49 PM
Replies (11-20):
Bmat
by Barb on Oct. 14, 2012 at 7:27 PM
1 mom liked this