Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do you know the five love languages?

Posted by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 3:13 PM
  • 37 Replies

 Which two are yours?  How about your spouse and children?  

Learning your love language or the one of someone that you care deeply for will not only help you become a better mother, father, sister, brother, wife, husband and friend but it will give you a deeper understanding of who you are. Why is it that you like to see another person’s face light up at a compliment? Why you are the one that helps when everyone else may be sitting down? Why do you love it when you get a bouquet of flowers? Why a hug sends you to the moon? Why you are happy just because you are with that person? If you can get an understanding of not only what your love language is but someone else’s love language you will have better relationships all around.

Love Language #1:


Words of Affirmation – Basically, a word of affirmation in the simplest terms is a compliment. Have you ever met a person that seems to always be saying good things about other people? Often times they will be the ones that go up to the soloist at a concert and tell them how much they appreciated the beauty of their voice as they sang. They are always saying nice things about other people. At times, it may even seem a little over the top … you can pretty much bet the bank that this person’s love language is Words of Affirmation. If you are married to this person, a well timed, “I think that you are the most wonderful ____________.” will make you the cream of the crop in this person’s eyes. They will feel appreciated and that they are loved.

Love Language #2:

Quality Time – The person whose love language is quality time is the one that is always planning things with other people. They like being with those that they love and enjoy spending time just being together. Often you will find that they are the ones that are asking you what you are doing and would you like to get together. This person enjoys being with other people. When you offer to spend time with a person whose love language is quality time they are overjoyed at the thought that you value them enough to take time with them. They think of time as valuable and a gift when given. If you don’t plan time to spend with this person, they will feel that you don’t care about them or love them.

Love Language #3:

Receiving Gifts – This love language is one that is easily recognizable … this person loves to give you things. They may spend hours looking for the perfect gift for you especially if they love you. You will find that they pay attention to what you like so that they can buy something that you really appreciate and enjoy. They love to give and they look for every opportunity to do so … This person really appreciates it when you give them a gift usually it doesn’t matter what it might be … they get excited at the thought that you cared enough and thought enough to get them something. If you are married to a person whose love language is receiving gifts then if you miss a birthday, holiday or God forbid anniversary you can count on them being extremely hurt and resentful.

Love Language #4:

Acts of Service – This love language is demonstrated through service. The person who operates in this is the one that you see doing the dishes or helping when everyone else is sitting down. They may offer to come over and clean your house if you are sick or do your laundry. You will find this person going out of their way to help you if you are in need. Often they will think about ways to help another person that no one else may think about because they like to serve. This person may be the one that asks you to help or do things for them. The signature of this language is they love to serve but if you aren’t serving them in return they feel neglected and unloved.

Love Language #5:

Physical Touch – This love language is probably the most popularly exemplified in the form of physical intimacy. It can take the form of a hug, a kiss, hand holding or yes … you guessed it... sexual intimacy. Have you ever met someone that is always hugging people? They greet everyone with a hug even people they may not know. The person whose love language is physical touch is always touching you in some way. They enjoy snuggling on the couch, holding hands, dancing, kissing, etc … If you know someone whose language is physical touch, step it up in these areas and they will be assured that you truly care about them.

Well, there you have it. “The Five Love Languages” by Gary Chapman is an excellent book that will teach you the details of successfully implementing these languages into your relationships and making them better.



by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 3:13 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by Jeanine on Mar. 25, 2013 at 3:58 PM

 My dh has the gift of "affirmation".  He is always telling me how wonderful I am etc. etc.  (I think it's a bit ridiculous, lol)

 I have the "service and gifts".  All he has to do is mention he needs something and I get it for him.  Or if I see something I think he could use or that would make his life easier I buy it for him.



by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 6:10 PM

This has been around for years. We took the "test" when the boys were little. None of ours have changed.

1 Acts of service

2 gifts 

by Mary Ann on Mar. 25, 2013 at 6:44 PM

I think we have the gifts of affirmation and quality time and to a certain degree acts of service.

by Lisa on Mar. 25, 2013 at 9:08 PM
1 mom liked this

Mark is 1,3(disagree on them not receiving gifts, Mark often tells me not to bother and means it), and 5

I am 1 and 4 but disagree about the not feeling loved if I am not "served"

by Bronze Member on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:04 PM

Acts of service are what I need, and touch. My husband needs words of affirmation. Good question about my kids, I'm not sure!

by Ronna on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:10 PM

I'm the receiving gifts and Acts of Service.  these are the two things i show the most and are most comfortable for me. 

I don't see my boss anywhere on here though.  lol.  but I still do the gifts and service to her, because THAT'S JUST ME.

by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:38 PM

My husband's was actsof service and physical touch, but he never bothered to learn mine whicis quality time and receiving gifts/words of affirmation.  My husband rarely complimented me except in the bedroom, in fact was insulting and when he did give me gifts, it was things he liked.  He got me a fishing rod, but never took me fishingHe got me a snakeskin walet, tht he liked and other things like that .  And he gave away to other people gifts that I bought myself, because they weren't important to him, it eventually drove us apart.  We attended a marriage seminar on the 5 languages of love, and he never got it.

by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 10:52 PM

 I try to do them all need more practice my other half does good tho

by Gold Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 3:08 PM

Yes, I am familiar with this book and the love languages.  My husband and I read it together about 13 years ago in fact.

Mine is "words of affirmation."

my husbands is "acts of service...and physical touch" of course ;)

by Becky on Mar. 26, 2013 at 3:20 PM

Mine would be the quality time. 

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)