Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I have a rather serious question

Posted by on May. 4, 2013 at 3:26 PM
  • 14 Replies
If you had a child with a terminal illness, would they get different treatment? Now I'm not talking dying in a few weeks or months. The child will probably live to adulthood (probably). He's on meds that cause extremely wild mood swings, he's very young so he doesn't comprehend all these shots and meds and IVS. He can't attend school, play sports, spend the night out, ect.
Please be honest as you can.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 4, 2013 at 3:26 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Destiny846
by on May. 4, 2013 at 3:52 PM
1 mom liked this

Tears are streaming down as I read this Here is a hug and I used to work with special need children.

mac1940
by Mary Ann on May. 4, 2013 at 4:14 PM

As a nurse I have watched parents and children deal with this question over and over again and I have to tell you, I do not know the right answer.  I can tell you that what most of the children say is that they just want to be treated "normal".  And I understand that every family has a different interpretation of normal but I took it to mean they simply want to be treated as their siblings are.  And that I also understand is not easy for parents to do.  I can't help but believe that if I were in that particular situation, I probably would not treat them the same as I treat my other children and would hope I could make everyone understand why.   And go out of my way to treat each and every one of them as the very special child they are to me but they all have different needs, that the difference in treatment is not in the amount of  love I have for each of them.

njt320
by Bronze Member on May. 4, 2013 at 4:47 PM
Yes he/she would be treated different by me anyways.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
kuntrylady56