Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Adult Kids Moms with Adult Kids

Feeling Sad and Drained

Posted by on May. 9, 2013 at 6:21 PM
  • 49 Replies

Cassidy is in her room crying right now.   She is leaving for her au pair job in northern Italy tomorrow.  At the beginning of September she has taken a similar position in England, she says for at least a year.   

As she is going, and won't be here for Mother's Day, the three of us had planned to go out for dinner tonight.  Last night,  she was at a going away party at her best friend's house, and came  home just before 3:00 AM.   She told me that after our dinner tonight, she wants to go and spend time with her friend AGAIN.   

As this is the last day that her dad and I could spend with her for who knows how long, I had hoped that we could all do something together today.   However, even though I have been tellling her for two months to clean her room, get rid of stuff she doesn't need, so it will be easier to pack, she has ignored me, and done other things with her spare time.   Now there is no family time left, except going out for dinner.   

This is how her room usually looks, and typically is even worse.  Often, you couldn't walk in there for all the clothes and other crap on the floor, and I don't know how she was able to get ot her bed.  I keep the rest of the house very tidy, and work hard doing that, so this has been frustrating for years.