Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Help Please...I'm so confused!!!

Posted by on Jul. 12, 2008 at 7:33 AM
  • 3 Replies

Hi...I'm new to this sort of thing so I'm just going to vent!!! I was so desperate for answers and advice that I came across cafe moms hoping for some peace of mind!!! I have a 20 year old daughter whom I love very much!!! We have had a pretty good relationship through the years. She's bright, talented and has mad mistakes like every child...BUT lately she has her head up her butt!!! She has a chance at a scholarship to a college and all she had to do was complete her required classes over the past two years. She has been all over the map with her grades and we have had to pay for her to take classes a second time and now even a third!!! This last semester she failed all of her classes but one and even just recently her summer class as well...she just quit going to school and lied about it to us. We thought she was going everyday and we asked her how everything was and she assured us everything is great!!! To make the situation worse she is involved with a boy who has a serious drinking problem!!! Part of the reason she failed her classes!!! When we asked her why she did this again...she said she was afraid to fail and really wasn't sure. Well she thought she had lost her scholarship...but by the grace of God she was given another chance to succeed...all she has to do is retake 5 classes starting Monday at a 6 week accelerated level. I have no doubt she can do it if she stays focused...That's where the boy comes in!!! He upsets her allot because when he's drunk he's not there for her and is verbally mean to her. We have had many long talks about this and she has decided to go to a counselor. She wants us to accept this relationship and be happy for her?!?! She's out of her mind!!! What parents wants there child in an abusive and codependent relationship?!?! So here's the dilem