Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

40ish and beyond... 40ish and beyond...

I'm Sorry - Throwing Myself A Pity Party

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2012 at 9:06 PM
  • 46 Replies
  • 958 Total Views

So...I've been a Teaching Assitant for an online university for the past 2 years (since my divorce was final). The hours are long, but it doesn't pay squat. The only good part is I can work from home and be here for my young daughter. I read the bios of the instructors I am assigned to; many of them have the same credentials as I do, a Master's degree in Education. So imagine how much of a blow it was to receive a rejection letter from them today. I applied as an instructor and was turned down. I can't live on what they're currently paying me, and my teaching credential is old (I earned my Master's degree in 2000).  Now because of No Child Left Behind and the money that districts receive for the program, I lack the "highly qualified teacher" status. Add to that my age and the gaps in my resume because my ex husband insisted I be a stay at home mom to our 3 kids, and the end result is no one wants an old, inexperienced certified teacher. I cried my eyes out at this latest rejection from my own employer. I don't know what I'm going to be when I grow up, but I need to figure it out sooner rather than later;  apparently I can cross teacher off the list, despite my advanced degree : ((

by on Jul. 5, 2012 at 9:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
manilowgal
by on Jul. 5, 2012 at 9:13 PM
1 mom liked this
I'm sorry! Don't know what else to say. As we all know life isn't fair! (((hugs)))
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
crazymom729
by Cajun Witch (dealer) on Jul. 5, 2012 at 9:37 PM

((hugs)) I wish I knew what else to say, some words of wisdom or something, but unfortunately I don't ..... soooo here's another ((HUG))

wishbearmom