Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

40ish and beyond... 40ish and beyond...

Hello to my 40+ sisters

Posted by on Feb. 20, 2013 at 4:43 PM
  • 48 Replies
  • 445 Total Views
1 mom liked this

Just joined and wanted to introduce myself.  I'm relatively new to chatting online to begin with, only about 18 or so months and brand new to cafemom.  I haven't read any of the other intros here so I don't know how much exact personal info is given in relation to actual name.  I did read on the section about joining this group that it is private but that there is one part that isn't, so if anyone can help me understand how that works, I would appreciate the help.

My screen name is SunRei17 which in itself actually gives some personal info :)

I live in the western part of the US and grew up in a large family.  I had my 1st child, a son, when I was a teenager.  I married (not my 1st born dad) and had my oldest daughter when my son was 2 1/2.  A year later I had another son who died 3 days later while he and I were both still in the hospital.  A year later I had another daughter and 4 years after that I had my youngest son.

I was a divorced mom who ended up raising my children w/o any financial help from my ex from the time my youngest of 4 kids was 2 yrs and my oldest was 12.  I do clerical/secretarial work and am involved with political actions that involve the line of work I am employed by.

After my divorce, I was married (common-law with a ceremony) to a wonderful man for 7 years but he died of a heart attack the day after my second child graduated from high school.

My "nest" became empty just a couple of years ago and am rediscovering myself with all of the extra time I now have.  I am in a relationship with a wodower who also has 4 adult kids.  I thought dealing with my adult step kids was the most difficult thing I ever had to deal with.  I thought.