Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My husband's cancer recurred...

Posted by on Aug. 19, 2011 at 3:47 AM
  • 3 Replies
  • 301 Total Views

Hi all,

I'm new to this!

I'm now 16 weeks and my husband's cancer has returned to haunt us.

He was diagnosed with this rare cancer in his parathyroid.  He had a huge tumor removed in Feb 2009 and everything seemd OK afterwards.  Then about a month ago, some symptoms came back and he went for a blood test, and found that it has come back.  We quickly went for public and private doctors' advices and he went through an operation on 8 Aug (last week) to remove a parathyroid tumour and a nearby thyroid gland.

Since it's such a rare cancer, we don't have concrete statistics to fall back on.  We don't know if it is prone to recur after radiotherapy.  And we don't know the survival rate.

This has caused my husband to worry so much, even when he's always been very optimistic. It's affecting his mental state.  But he forces himself to be cheerful in front of me and our friends. He told me his feelings today.

All I can do is support him and be there for him.  And maybe get him to think about his duty when our daughter is born - so he has things to look forward to.  But deep down, I myself am also scared.  I cannot imagine him leaving me.  And we've only been married for less than 2 years.

I'm not a Christian or anything, so I cannot rely on any religion...

by on Aug. 19, 2011 at 3:47 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
BaBeezandMe
by on Aug. 19, 2011 at 9:20 AM

Hi there Hyda....my name is Jeanne and I have a similar situation but I am not pregnant.  My husband and I will celebrate our 14th anniversary on Sept 13th.  We have soon to be 7 year old ADHD/Autistic twin boys.  In May 09 my husband had his left kidney removed with a grapefruit sized cancerous tumor inside...he recovered and all was GREAT!