Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hello everyone, I have started three groups so far but none of them are as important to me as this one. I am a Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma survivor of ten years now. I was diagnosed RIGHT before I graduated High School back in 1996 and was graced with a quick session of chemotherapy and survival. I didn't want to make this group specific to survivors, as I feel all cancer fighters at all levels can benefit from everyones experience regardless of their current status.

Although it has been ten years since my battle it is still very raw for me to talk about. Even now as I type I am getting all teary!

Now as a mother I fear the repercussions of my choice of giving birth to my beautiful little lady. I had to battle with the idea of not being able to have kids (as I was told by doctors in the past) due to chemo. So when my body was host to a little spirit I was astonished and troubled. Obviously I made my decision. One that to this day I still have mixed feelings about.

Anyway! I don't want to blow my proverbial "wad" here so with that, welcome, I love you although I don't know you and I hope this group can help alleviate your anxiety and elevate your spirit.

-Selene
by on Feb. 9, 2007 at 7:25 PM
Replies (471-471):
AuntieM
by New Member on Dec. 27, 2014 at 5:55 PM
My name is Monica. In 2012 I was diagnosed with Anal cancer. My oncology team were very upbeat and said they had an 85% cure rate with this kind of cancer. Usually one full round of treatment takes care of it. My case was complicated because I also had Crohn's disease.

I began chemo and radiation immediately. I had to stop taking the oral chemo after about a month because it just made me too sick. And my radiation therapy lasted longer because I had to cancel several times due to being so ill.