Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How is a person suppose,,,,,,

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2011 at 1:54 AM
  • 19 Replies

to find legitimate work in this society?

I have been looking for work for about a year now and have run across sooo many "snags" that it is really difficult to keep going.

I have been out of work for about a year now and been looking consistently.  However,,, I can't find work in my field because I got my master's degree before i was hired and no one wants to pay me a master's rate (guess I shot myself in the foot on that one,,,, thought I was doing good for myself and that I'd be able to get a better position but I guess not).  Soooo I am applying in different area's,,,, however,,, in some of those areas I am considered "over qualified" because I have a master's degree (finally just started leaving that off my resume and ap's) and in other area's I don't have enough experience so they won't hire me (funny if they'd hire me I'd get the experience real quick. *sigh* LOL) and yet another thing I've run across is the fact that in my state they do credit checks and because I haven't been able to find work there are bills I haven't paid and therefore my credit is bad but they don't think of that,,, "they" see the score and think "she can't handle her money so she can't handle anyone else's.  And then today I ran across this,,,, I went to apply at JCPenny again, different job same store but because it hasn't been 150 days since I last applied apparently I can't apply again.  Another thing that came up with that message when I tried to apply was that the questions I answered in my first application don't match the qualifications for the job that I was applying for today.  Well DUH, its a different job but again I can't reapply until after the 150 days.  Here's a company that has jobs available and I would like to have one of those jobs but I can't even apply for them because of a date