Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

Need Pointers on going back to work

Posted by on Sep. 26, 2012 at 7:48 AM
  • 11 Replies
Hello!  I'm new to CafeMom and I'm a new mom AND I'm newly back to work...

I have the privilege of working from home a few days a month but with that also comes some late nights away from the family.  Overall I have a very flexible work schedule which is a huge blessing. My partner has some flexibility but works and goes to school.  I'm sitting here right now trying not to dictate how she cares for our 3 month old.  I'm trying to sit at my home office and focus on work and let them figure out their own routine BUT after being home for 3 months with our child I know a few things that work and a few things that don't.  I don't want my partner to feel like I'm leaving her high and dry and that I'm letting her sink or swim BUT I don't want to micromanage every aspect either!  Well, I do want to micromanage but I'm typing this instead :)

Any helpful pointers???
by on Sep. 26, 2012 at 7:48 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
larabear1
by Bronze Member on Sep. 26, 2012 at 8:55 AM
You can give your partner those helpful hints that you've learned about your baby, but do so with the understanding that she doesn't have to use them. You're right, they have to find what works for them. Go to your office during your work hours, close the door (if there is one) & turn on some music. You can check on them every so often, but only give yourself a few minutes with them because if you're like me you'll want to start some little project because the baby is content!
Good luck! I think all three of you will do fine!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
1stTimeMommyKY
by on Sep. 26, 2012 at 9:06 AM