Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

Are you good at your job?

Posted by on Dec. 8, 2012 at 10:36 PM
  • 18 Replies
I just started a new position 3 months ago with the same company. I just graduated with my Bachelors degree so I felt that I needed a new position with more responsibilities. It's not what I expected. I'm used to being a fast learner and knowing the job in a month. But three months later I still feel so lost and not good at what I do. It gives me anxiety and worried I'll eventually be let go cause I'm not good at it. Has anyone felt this way? It's a great opportunity to grow in the company and being 30 I should have a career by now. Sorry moms, just has to let out my frustrations.
by on Dec. 8, 2012 at 10:36 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jenmatt451
by on Dec. 8, 2012 at 10:46 PM

Wow, after 3 months I would be feeling pretty down on myself.  I'm not sure what your job entails but it sounds to me like maybe you didn't get enough training for your position?  When I took the position of A/R manager two years ago, it was because the previous one got fired.  Now while I had been doing A/R stuff for years, there was so much that she had been responsible for that I had never done before.  And without her there to show me, I had to learn a lot on my own.  I muddled through and taught myself much of my duties but I didn't really feel comfortable in my position until I was 6 months in.  Thankfully, I have a very patient and understanding boss.  I now have cross-trained my subordinates on my duties so that if the time came and I were moved to a new position or left the company, they wouldn't be overwhelmed like I was.  And it makes coming back from vacations easy because there isn't a pile of stuff waiting on me!  Good luck to you.

dylansmom08
by on Dec. 8, 2012 at 10:49 PM