Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

2 year old won't nap...

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 6:20 PM
  • 11 Replies

Anyone here have a young toddler that won't nap? He gets up around 8 and still manages to stay awake until 9 every night?!? I am new to being a SAHM and have a 6 week old as well. 

by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 6:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
CreziaMommyTo2
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 6:36 PM

that was both my kids..

DS stopped napping at 15 months old.  and DD stopped napping at a year... she napped on occasion, but nothing was ever set in stone.  neither got irratable either... even if they both were napper, by 2 years old, i wouldnt have allowed naps.. both my kids are early risers too, 6-7am and in bed by 9.

doesnt bother me. dont force a nap...

ShanaMomOf2
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 6:41 PM

It's weird, he hits a point where you can tell he is starting to get a little tired around 6 and then gets this boost of energy out of nowhere! Lol 

import1a92
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 6:46 PM
My DD at 2 years was phasing out naps. Every once in a while when she is overly active in the mornings will she go down for an afternoon nap. It would take me up to 6 books until she would pass out on her worse active days. She would wake up at 6am and go to bed around 10pm.

If you can afford to burn some gas, I would say take them out for a 30 minute drive.

Try setting up a new nap routine around mid-afternoon after lunch, a physically active activity and then some quiet time activity like coloring, putting together a puzzle or play-doh.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
lalasmama2007
by Ticia on Jan. 18, 2013 at 7:39 PM

My dd stopped napping before she turned 2.  

Marimaru
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 7:43 PM