Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

Sahm's who are/have returned to work--are you ever really ready to leave your kids again??

Posted by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 1:58 PM
  • 14 Replies

I'm 37 yrs old and have been a sahm for a little over 9 yrs now.  My kids are 9 and 6.  Prior to being a sahm, I worked as an RN.  It wasn't planned that I would be a sahm....it just so happened that the office where I worked changed its setup and all the RN's and LPN's lost their jobs.  This happened when I was about 7-8 months pregnant with my son.  So, dh and I decided we'll see how it goes with me being home full time, and thankfully it has worked out ever since.  Now, my dd will be in 1st grade and going to school full time this coming year, and I'm looking at the possibilities for returning to work.  I'm not sure if I want to jump right back into nursing right away, or try to find something part-time and close to home so I can still be here before and after school.  We hadn't planned on me going back quite yet, but now I see this job listing in our local paper yesterday which could be right for me.  But the thought of having to leave my kids some of the time and go back to work right in the middle of their summer vacation isn't good.  So, am I just not ready YET to leave them--or will I never really feel ready??

by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 1:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
emarin77
by Bronze Member on Jul. 4, 2013 at 4:49 PM

Look for a part time job, that is what I'm doing now. 

jennfin
by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 5:04 PM