Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

Frightened to go back to work

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2013 at 11:53 PM
  • 8 Replies
I am a midwife/nurse, after having my babies I started working in community midwifery. Now after having my last baby 12mths on its back to work time. I have to work back in a hospital/acute setting. I am really worried I am starting from scratch, worried I won't remember little things etc. of course there are guidelines to follow but I used to be on top of my game I was good at what I did now because I have been out so long I am frightened of it :( anyone else feel like this? Or had similar experience?
by on Jul. 23, 2013 at 11:53 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
thebatesfamily
by on Jul. 24, 2013 at 12:21 AM

Well let me say this. I have not worked for nearly 6 years as I got my education and had my children. Now I am going back 4 months pregnant and in a heap of student debt. I hate it. I truly hate leaving my life and my kids in the hands of others. Fortunately the daycare they go to is the most highly in demand center in our entire county and I trust them with my babies lives. And of course not working for so long leaves me nervous too. But here is a simple fact. We can do it all at home so we can do it all at work. I think what it is you're feeling is that "if you don't use it, you lose it". In some instances this is true. But this is the human body you're working with, a human body you yourself have as well. I think it is nerves getting in the way. Once you get into the workplace everything will come flooding back to you as needed. 

Trust yourself Mama!

Moof4boys
by on Jul. 24, 2013 at 2:29 AM
Thank you, sad you have to understand with me but I am so appreciative for your comments. You have picked me up :-)
latopmom
by on Jul. 24, 2013 at 8:17 AM