Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

30 Something Moms 30 Something Moms

Is technology robbing our children of their childhood?

Posted by on Sep. 28, 2013 at 1:04 PM
  • 41 Replies
1 mom liked this

Ok, this is my first post so please be kind ;) Anyway, I am an 80's kid/90's teenager, and I remember a childhood where I actually PLAYED! And when I became too old to "PLAY" I still SOCIALLY interacted with my friends.  Now, I have been raising children since 2004 when I married DH who had custody of his three children and we had 2 more.  So I have been parenting with age ranges from now 20 yr old being the oldest and 2 yr old being the youngest.  I don't know if this is just an isolated incident in our house or if any of you have experienced this too, but my children NEVER ask to play! The will do the things they are responsible for doing their chores and always do what they're told when asked, but when they have their down time the iPads/iPods come flying out. I will own up to the fact that we are not strict about their use of these items and when we do tell them to put something away they do.  However, when they do they just sit there like they have no other idea of how to entertain themselves. They never ask to have friends over or to go to friends houses. I'm just wondering if anyone else has experienced this? And, I'm not talking the social interaction from extra curricular sports or activities.