• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Dealing with your ex's new wife...

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:13 PM
  • 29 Replies

So my ex-husband has recently remarried and his new wife is a nightmare.  They have only been married for a little over a month and already she wants my kids to call her mom.  I am not feeling this at all.  Am I wrong for being upset at this?  He see's absolutely nothing wrong with it but I do. Anyone have any advice?confused

by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:13 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jackiewal10
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:17 PM
1 mom liked this

I have not ever been divorced, so I have no personal experience, but NO. NOPE. That would NOT be happening.  She is not their mother. They have a mom. You.  How old are your kids? If old enough, just tell them openly that they are not to call her mom, that it would hurt you, and that she isn't their mom. There is no reason for them to call her mom and honestly, the fact that your ex sees no issues with this is a problem.  You and he may no longer be married, but he still needs to respect you in the sense that you are the mother of your (his and yours) children. Being ok with his new wife wanting to be called mom is a huge slap in the face.

CadillacCutie
by on Jul. 23, 2014 at 10:17 PM
2 moms liked this
From my stand point I would be the new wife. When I got married to him there was no way in hell I wanted them to call me mom. As a matter of fact I do not prefer it at all and me and the two kids agree with that and are on a understanding. So IMO yes she is in the wrong. She is not their mother.

Quoting IluvmyJayzz: