Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

anyone here work in retail?

Posted by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:59 PM
  • 9 Replies

I am job searching and have been avoiding retail jobs but might go ahead and start applying. I worked in retail for many years, before kids. I would make sure they can work my schedule around dropping off/icking up ds from school. But my biggest concern is black friday. DH doesnt have off work and he only has a work van (not family-friendly at all). There is no family around. If I had to work black friday that would be like 5 am. maybe earlier. If you work in retail, what do you do about your kids, in that situation?

by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
momofthem311
by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 1:21 PM
1 mom liked this
I've worked in retail before, Sams Club. I always had someone to watch my kids, my mother. When I was single I got free head start and only worked 8-5 M-F because there's no free child care on weekends. You just have to figure it out I guess. Make sure they know you can't work at that time before they hire you. Some places will care and some won't.
lizfnf
by Liz on Jul. 27, 2014 at 1:38 PM
I worked retail when I was in high school and college. My advice is work for an independently owned store. I worked for a stationery/craft store that was owned by a woman and loved it. Yes, I had to work black friday but it was normal hours. Our busiest time was back to school which was stressful since my boss relied om me after I had been there awhile so I had to cut it close to my class schedule. She always worked with me though.
Sigmalade
by Bronze Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 3:23 PM

You may not have to work Black Friday. Also, if you list your hours as 8 to 3 daily, they will work in that schedule.

Sigmalade
by Bronze Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 3:23 PM